I have returned.

You know sometimes you get a little behind on something and then all of a sudden it’s almost mid-February and you haven’t written a single blog entry since September? Well, yeah… I’m back.

I hate to be mysterious, but a recent chain of internet-based events has inspired me to pick up this blog. I had been considering committing my second act of blogicide in less than a year but after a fake me briefly appeared blogging in the place of the actual me (unfortunately for those not in my immediate circle of friends you will never get to see the hilarious, and amazingly convincing to my friends – version of me) I decided to reconsider.

I have been compiling many topics in my cranium so this will (fingers crossed) not be a slow relaunch; I hope to pick up where I left off, only better, since I barely started at all. The first real post is forthcoming. In the mean time, (since as I write this I am watching Feist perform my favourite song of her’s on an SNL rerun,) I suggest you read this post on Greg Sandow’s blog about the problems with Pop vs classical argument, complete with comments by me.

I’ll see you soon.

7 responses to “I have returned.

  1. Welcome back.

  2. Damn, its about %&%*$*#(# time.

  3. Pingback: oboeinsight » Blog Archive » Just A Meaningless (mostly) Note

  4. So, I’m afraid that we are more alike than we would admit in public. Serious. I have recently taken to carrying a moleskin and a bic pen. It makes it easy to jot down thoughts for my next post.

    db

  5. Pingback: oboeinsight » Blog Archive » Thanks so much!

  6. Hey Jeff,
    I stopped reading the comments after yours. I thought you summed up the whole discussion brilliantly.
    R.

  7. In the pop-classical discussion, I am definitely on the classical side. However, that is just what I like, if you want to like “pop”, then OK.. it is not a put-down for me to say I do NOT like it! One thing that has concerned me is the attitude at live performances of “pop” music. I am puzzled at people who pay large sums of money for a ticket to a live performance in an arena, and then sing along, or shout or otherwise (what seems to me) disrespect the performers. Why go if you are not there to listen?

    Hey Bill, maybe this discussion is best left for Greg Sandow’s blog, not mine. However, that discussion had a lot to do with the fact that many people who don’t like ‘pop’ will deride it for it’s supposed lesser value. No one’s personal taste should be questioned in that way. As for rock shows, audience participation like you described is part of what classical music calls “performance practice.” It’s part of the experience. Me I never understood why so many classical music-goers feel the need to dress up like they’re going to church.
    JW

Leave a Reply

